Medicare Can be Understood in 4 Parts

Medicare is an important part of life for seniors. Only seniors that are at least 65 years old will be able to be a Medicare recipient (unless a person qualifies with an eligible disability and/or disease). It is important that you learn what Medicare entails so you can make sure your plan is tailored to your needs. Your care depends on the type of coverage you have.

Understanding Medicare

Medicare coverage can be easily understood in four points:

  • Part A: Hospital Insurance
  • Part B: Doctors and Tests
  • Part C: Medicare Alternative
  • Part D: Prescriptions

Part A is the part of coverage that people will automatically receive if they are a part of Medicare. A lot of recipients do not have to deal with a monthly cost, but will still be responsible for a $1,484 deductible for each benefit period.

Part B is not a coverage that is required if the recipient has creditable coverage from another source like an employer. If you do not have creditable coverage and still choose not to enroll in Part B then you could deal with penalties if you decide to enroll later.

Part C is also referred to as Medicare Advantage. This is an alternative to a normal Medicare plan. This part is usually a combination of Parts A, B, and D. However, it may also be able to provide extra benefits depending on the plan you choose. This part is administered by Medicare-approved private insurance companies.

Part D is specifically designed for prescription drug coverage. This part is also administered by private insurance companies, and is optional to enroll in. If you know that you will need to have prescription coverage then you may want to consider this part!


Medicare can seem confusing, but it doesn’t have to be! It can be easily broken down into four parts that detail the different types of coverage that they would provide. If you have any Medicare questions you should get in touch with a professional!